Sunday Morning Boot Camp

BootCamp
One of the perks of waking up early on a Sunday morning is making it to the early fitness classes at LA Fitness. This morning I gave the 8:30 am Boot Camp class a shot! I arrived a few minutes early to set up my area – I followed what everyone else was doing and grabbed a yoga mat, an aerobic step bench, and two sets of dumbbells. The class was pretty full with a great mix of people, older couples, younger adults, men and women alike. I didn’t know what to expect. When I hear “Boot Camp” I think of push-ups, jumping jacks, and sit-ups until you pass out – not with this class. This class worked your entire body, utilizing the step with almost each move and incorporating moves for your arms and shoulders as well. A happy medium between boot camp and aerobics! Our instructor John was great, demonstrating the moves, yelling to keep going, and walking around the class making sure no one quit. He also had a solid playlist which is crucial. The squats we did towards the end of the session really pushed me to the limit; I felt the burn for sure! After about an hour of non-stop working and dripping with sweat, we stretched and cooled down. I feel great now and would definitely go back to that class again – we’ll just have to wait and see if I am able to lift my arms over my head come tomorrow morning 😉
Sunday Morning Boot Camp: Tara Tested, Tara Approved!
This class gets a 10 out of 10! It is a great way to start the day, especially at the end of the weekend when you may be feeling guilty about Friday and Saturday night indulgences. Just an hour out of your morning and you have the rest of the day to feel great knowing you kicked butt (yes, kicking your own butt). I want to try every group fitness class while I have a membership to LA Fitness, so stay tuned for more workout reviews!
Leave a Reply

