Food

Pumpkin Firsts

I finally got around to getting a pumpkin, and since Halloween as come and gone it only seemed right to use my pumpkin for what it is naturally intended for: to eat! No carving this time around.

I started off small and tackled the seeds first. I cut that bad boy in half and scooped out the slimy insides. I separated the seeds, rinsed them in a colander with cold water, then spread them on a greased cooking sheet. I roasted them at 300 degrees for 30 minutes to dry them out.

Pumpkin

Round 1 of roasting complete! I grabbed the seeds out of the oven and mixed them together with my seasoning of choice-  cinnamon and sugar (can’t stop my sweet tooth)! I just eyeballed the amount of cinnamon and sugar to make sure that the seeds would be evenly coated. I spread the seeds back onto the sheet and roasted them for another 15 minutes.

Cinnamon-Sugar Roasted Pumpkin Seeds: Tara Tested, Tara Approved! I’ve never tried pumpkin seeds before, but these are delicious! A simple snack that you can customize with your favorite blend of spices! There are tons of combinations you can try to create savory or spicy varieties. You also can’t beat the nutritional perks of pumpkin seeds – they are a good source of Vitamin E, an antioxidant that can help prevent against cell damage, and are rich in mono-unsaturated fatty acids – the fats that can help lower the “bad” LDL cholesterol and increase the “good” HDL cholesterol in our blood.

photo

Now that I’ve taken care of the seeds, I have the rest of the pumpkin to play with! Thinking of baking a loaf of bread or maybe a batch of muffins. What are some of your favorite pumpkin recipes?

Leave a Reply

