Post-Kickboxing Smoothie

I had the day off from work today (yay!) which meant that I was able to get to my gym for the 8:30 am kickboxing cardio class. The class kicked butt! I know that I will feel it in my arms, shoulders, and back tomorrow. I decided to challenge myself a little bit and hold weights (2.5 lbs) during the class –  this definitely amped up the burn. I loved this upbeat class; jumping around, jabbing and punching my imaginary enemies. It’s a great stress reliever and a fun way to sweat!

After I got home I made a bee-line for the blender. I decided to get creative with what I had on hand and make a (get ready it’s a mouthful…literally) Strawberry Banana Peanut Butter Oat Smoothie for breakfast! It hit the spot after a good workout and kept me full for the rest of the morning.

Smoothie

Strawberry Banana Peanut Butter Oat Smoothie

  • 1 banana, chopped into pieces and frozen
  • 3 strawberries
  • 1 cup almond milk (I had vanilla almond milk, but you can use plain almond milk or even regular skim milk)
  • 1/4 cup oats (I used the regular old fashioned quick oats)
  • 1 tsbp peanut butter
  • a few ice cubes

Blend together until smooth! All of this filled a regular pint glass right to the top. 😀 I got a little fancy and garnished the smoothie with few slices of strawberry. I used the MyFitnessPal app to enter in the recipe, and this turns out to be about 394 calories for the whole blender-full!

Strawberry Banana Peanut Butter Oat Smoothie: Tara Tested, Tara Approved! This smoothie was delicious and filling. I don’t make smoothies that often, but knew that I had a banana in the freezer that I wanted to use up. Freezing bananas are a great way to avoid wasting them when they get over-ripe and turn super brown. My roommate and I are still trying to master banana consumption so they’re gone before going brown! There are unlimited variations to this recipe, so have fun with your smoothie creations! I almost left out the peanut butter (what?!), but lets be real, when do I ever leave out peanut butter…?

Leave a Reply

