Food

Back in Action with Overnight Oats!

After a summer hiatus, I’m back in action! The past few months have been extremely busy with fun summer excursions and a cross-country move to Missouri. I am now settled in Springfield, completing my dietetic internship through Missouri State University and happy to be back in action on Tara Tested!

I have heard a lot about overnight oats lately but was hesitate to try. Cold oatmeal? Morning mush? I just wasn’t sure about it. Anyway, I went ahead and bought all of the ingredients the other weekend and set out to try Peanut Butter Pumpkin Banana Overnight Oats. I had a few near-empty peanut butter jars, so I decided to assemble everything in one of those so that no peanut butter went to waste! It can’t get any easier, toss everything in the jar, put the lid on, set it in the fridge, let the magic happen overnight, and voila! A delicious, hearty, no-hassel, breakfast waiting for you in the morning.

photo 1Peanut Butter Pumpkin Banana Overnight Oats

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1/3 cup yogurt (I used Greek vanilla)
  • 1/3 milk
  • 1/3 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1-2 tsp chia seeds
  • 1/2 banana, sliced
  • sprinkle of cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter

Tara Tested, Tara Approved: I’ve loved having this breakfast ready for me after getting back from an early morning run! The perfect meal for busy mornings when you don’t have much time to cook or need to take something on the go. The opportunities for different flavors and varieties are endless! I’m excited to experiment with berries and different fruits, even adding nuts or granola. YUM!

Leave a Reply

