Running · Sport

Personal Best Bass Pro (Birthday) Half Marathon!

My 24th birthday is this tomorrow and when I look back one year ago, it has been a whirlwind!

If you had asked me 365 days ago to predict the next 365, I wouldn’t even have come close! I wouldn’t have told you that I’d have my heart broken, that I’d move in with two of the most amazing brunettes I know (3G network shout out!), that I’d have dinner with the CEO of a Fortune 500 company, that I’d endure devastating disappointment followed by extreme elation in a mere 48-hour period over potential internships, that I’d almost follow a band down to Savannah, Georgia, that I’d have Tinder success story to thank for an amazing summer, and then that I’d move across the country to complete my dietetic internship at Missouri State University (MSU) in Springfield.

Despite all of the craziness that has gone in this 23rd year of my life, one thing has remained constant: my running. I ran through the highs, I ran through the lows. It seems too fitting that I’ve closed out year 23 with another half marathon (my 5th) – and absolutely rocked it, I might add!

IMG_0243

This race was the Bass Pro Outdoor Fitness Festival’s Cohick Half Marathon in Springfield. I wasn’t sure if I’d have the time to train enough during my internship and was reluctant to sign up but I’m so glad I did! I trained diligently and working out in the gym definitely helped to relieve some stress from the internship and a very busy schedule. Hard work paid off and I finished the race with a new PR… 1:45:16 (2nd place in my age group)! Nothing meant more to me than seeing my fellow interns, aka my family here in MO, cheering me on at the finish line. 😀

IMG_0242

Both the expo and the race were very organized and well run. The race started right on time at 7:00 am (there was a full marathon and a 5k as well). Other than the windy conditions, you couldn’t have asked for better race weather, perfectly chilly and crisp. There were plenty of aid stations (even a beer stop at Mother’s Brewery if you were so inclined) and volunteers along the course steering you in the right direction. The course was mostly residential, with a little detour through downtown Springfield. As you can see from the map, the route was a big loop with lots of turns to keep you on your toes! Bonus – this race has a slight downhill finish! Runners had their choice of bagels, chocolate milk, granola bars, bananas, pizza, Qdoba, and beer after crossing the finish line.

Now, I am a healthy person and am careful to eat healthy foods, but I celebrated this race (and my birthday) with a hard-earned Mudpie Mojo from Coldstone Creamery. 24 is going to bring big things (a full marathon for sure), and although I can’t predict where I will be a year from now, wherever it is, I’ll be running!

Bass Pro Outdoor Fitness Festival Cohick Half Marathon: Tara Tested, Tara Approved! I am beyond ecstatic with my results in this race! It seems like I’ve been chasing 1:45 for a while and it feels great to have reached that goal. This is a great race, and if you ever find yourself in Springfield, MO in early November, I recommend you register!

Frank Shorter was at the race!
Surprise! Frank Shorter was at the race!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

