Food

El Salvadorian Eats

Earlier this month, I had the opportunity to spend a week in El Salvador through my dietetic internship at Missouri State University (MSU). It was the trip of a lifetime and such a rewarding experience! We worked with an organization called Convoy of Hope; a faith-based, international, humanitarian-relief organization based in Springfield, Missouri. While in El Salvador with Convoy we visited several schools, an orphanage, a nursing home, Mother’s Clubs and other organizations with donations, food, and supplies. We also had the opportunity to try A  LOT of traditional El Salvadorian cuisine…

image5
Mother’s Club Lunch

One of my favorite meals we had on the trip was prepared by one of the Mother’s Clubs. The women in the Mother’s Clubs learn a skill or trade that they can convert into a business to support themselves. We ate lunch at one of their restaurants and were served a delicious meal of chicken, pico de gallo, rice, vegetables, and tortillas. The pico de gallo was the best I have ever had – so fresh and perfectly seasoned, and the chicken was cooked to perfection.

image4

Another favorite dish we had on the trip were pupusas! Pupusas are thick handmade corn tortillas that can be filled with cheese, loroco (a green similar to spinach), beans, or meat (typically pork). We had these on several occasions and they hit the spot each time. My favorite combinations were the cheese and beans, and cheese and loroco.

image2

I also got to try a BIG glass of horchata! Horchata is a traditional beverage that in El Salvador, is typically made with morro seeds. It tasted a little different at each place I had it, but this one had a subtle peanut butter flavor – fine by me!

El Salvadorian Eats: Tara Tested, Tara Approved! I could go on and on about this trip and what an amazing experience it was, but to stick to my Tara Tested ways, I thought I would just give a little snapshot of the new foods I got to try in this new place! I had packed peanut butter snack packs and granola bars for our hotel room thinking I might be hungry – silly me! I don’t think I have ever been full for so many consecutive days than I have on this trip. I must give credit to our host and guide, Edith, who introduced our domestic palates to these new tasty dishes (and expanded our waist lines). 🙂

image1

Leave a Reply

