Don’t Dump December! D.TOX Recap

For many, December is a month of holiday parties, indulgence, and saying over and over to ourselves that we’ll start to eat better come January 1st. But why wait? I decided to not “dump December” and made a commitment to eating healthy, nourishing foods during the most tempting time of the year. This weekend marks the end of my 14 day Life Time D.TOX program and I feel great!

Here is a quick snap shot of the program:

  • Just 14 days!
  • Week 1: 1 D.TOX shake per day and 2-3 program-friendly meals
  • Week 2: 2 D.TOX shakes per day and 1-3 program-friendly meals
  • The D.TOX eliminates common inflammatory foods including: cow dairy, gluten/wheat, eggs, soy, peanuts (and peanut butter 😮 ). Caffeinated and alcoholic beverages are also eliminated.
  • Go ahead and enjoy ALL the veggies you could dream of (except corn and the creamed variety), lots of protein, goat cheese, healthy fats, fruit, and gluten-free starches (rice, quinoa, oats)!

Life Time D.TOX: Tara Tested, Tara Approved! To be honest I was a little nervous as I started this program – no yogurt, eggs, or peanut butter?! I thought – what am I going to eat? I live off of peanut butter! 13 days later I can say that I’ve survived without the stuff (almond butter is allowed and makes a great substitute 😉 ). I haven’t felt deprived while on this program and have enjoyed trying some new recipes and experimenting with different ingredients. I’ve also noticed that my cravings for sweets and carbs has diminished – so much so that I was inches away from a pint of Chocolate Peanut Butter Haagen Dazs and didn’t even want a bite! Shocker. Since beginning the program on 12/6/15 I’ve lost 5.8 lbs and my body fat percentage is down 1.4%.

As my program ends and I enter the thick of the holiday season I am motivated to continue eating this way – because I’m enjoying the way I feel! I will be smart about adding back in certain foods and paying attention to how my body feels. Let’s be real – I’m going to enjoy a glass of wine and some of my favorite spinach dip on Christmas Eve, but just enough to make my tastebuds happy. It’s all about learning about yourself and what foods make you feel your best.

Wishing you happy and healthy holidays!

One thought on “Don’t Dump December! D.TOX Recap

Leave a Reply

