Food · Nutrition

Roasted Black Radishes

Have you ever tried a black radish? I didn’t know black radishes existed until the other day when I spotted them in the produce section. I’m used to brightly colored red radishes and was surprised to see these dark, dirty looking vegetables among the other colorful selections. With a little help from Google, I learned that black radishes can be roasted in the oven and decided to give them a try with that night’s dinner.

FullSizeRender-4

Roasted Black Radishes with Snap Peas:

  • 4 black radishes
  • 1 lb snap peas
  • 1/4 c green onions, sliced
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste

Preheat the oven to 400 F. Wash the radishes, ( I wanted to scrub off that black-ness so badly, to no avail) and chop them into large pieces. I halved the radishes, halved them again and then once more to get bite-sized pieces. Trim the snap peas, toss them with the radishes in a bowl, and drizzle the vegetables with olive oil. Spread the vegetables onto a baking sheet, sprinkle with salt and pepper, and roast in the oven for 12-15 minutes. Top the vegetables with the sliced green onions and serve.

Black Radishes: Tara Tested, Tara and family approved! When I first bit into the roasted radish, I couldn’t quite put my finger on the flavor. After another bite or two, my parents and I determined that they tasted a little like brussels sprouts – a favorite of ours! Radishes are a great source of vitamin C and are also high in potassium, iron, and magnesium. Try adding these radishes to your next dish – they can be served raw in a salad, roasted, sautéed, or prepared like turnips.

FullSizeRender-5
Sunday Night Salmon…featuring Roasted Black Radishes and Snap Peas with Quinoa
Leave a Reply

