Practice Makes Pull-Ups

I have always wanted to be able to do pull-ups, so at the beginning of the year I decided that one of my New Years resolutions was to learn how to do a pull-up. I’m talking forward hand grip, unassisted pull-ups, the real deal. I got to work on this goal in February at the start of a 90-Day Challenge at Life Time Athletic. At first, I simply increased my strength training – I started to lift heavier weights and did so more often. Within a few weeks I noticed that I was definitely getting stronger but when I jumped up to the bar  and attempted a pull-up, nothing happened.

Then in April, a friend of mine sent me a pull-up program developed by a Major in the Marines. Major Misty Posey developed this program to help Marines go from 0 to 20 pull-ups in a matter of weeks. At first I was a little skeptical, but after reading the article and going over the details of the program, I was inspired and pumped up! I printed out the plan and got started the next day. I followed the workouts diligently for the next 5 weeks or so and like magic, I reached my goal of 5 pull-ups way before my mid-June deadline.

Major Misty Posey’s Pull-up Program: Tara Tested, Tara Approved! If mastering a pull-up is a fitness goal of yours – I highly recommend following this program. The workouts are relatively short and require minimal equipment – just make sure you have a good ole pull-up bar at your home or gym. She emphasizes that in order to learn how to do a pull-up, you need to spend time on the bar. If you are worried about your soft hands getting a little rough and callous-y, this program is not for you (unless you wear gloves, of course). I saw progress very quickly which helped me stay motivated. Hooray for setting goals and achieving them! What are some of your fitness goals?

FullSizeRender-4

Leave a Reply

