Food · Nutrition

Back on Track with Butternut Squash

I had a very fun end to 2016 – a trip to New Orleans (despite a dislocated shoulder), cruise to the Bahamas, and holiday celebrations with friends and family. All of this fun (and physical therapy) however, meant that I lost sight of my healthy eating and exercise habits. Like most of us,  I decided that the New Year would bring about a reset to my habits and it just so happens that this reset is in the form of the Whole30. (Look out for a Whole30 recap in about…you guessed it – 30 days)

I did my research and planned to prepare a few recipes in advance for the week (definitely the way to go if you decide to do this plan). I perused the Whole30 book and found this recipe:

Butternut Squash Soup

  • 3 tablespoons coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup diced onion
  • 3 cups butternut squash (I used packages of cubed squash)
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 4 cups chicken broth
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper

Melt the coconut oil in a large pot, when the oil is hot, add the onions and cook for 2-3 minutes. Add the squash, garlic, and ginger and stir for another minute. Add the chicken broth and bring to a boil. Boil the squash until soft, about 10 minutes. Remove the pot from heat and blend the soup with an immersion blender (or transfer the soup in batches to a traditional blender) until smooth. Return the pureed soup to the pot and heat over medium-high heat until it thickens, about 15-20 minutes. Season with salt and pepper. img_4353-1

Butternut Squash Soup: Tara Tested, Tara Approved! I was excited to try out my new blender with this soup and I was very happy with the results. The recipe listed above serves 2, so I doubled everything to increase the number of servings (and even had extra to freeze). The soup was deliciously creamy and flavorful, but not too rich. I would suggest substituting coconut milk for some of the chicken broth if you like a richer, thicker consistency. To make this soup a complete meal, I added diced cooked chicken and on a separate occasion added chicken apple sausage (my favorite combo). I even ate a bowl of this soup for breakfast one morning with my eggs! I’m excited to use my immersion blender for some other recipes – what are some of your favorites?

Leave a Reply

